In February 27, 1962 Selma adopted the Council-manager form of government, which it operates under today.   The Town Council consists of the Mayor and four (4) Council members elected at-large.  Council members hold policy making and legislative authority and are responsible for passing ordinances, adopting the budget, appointing Board and Commission members, the Town Manager and Town Attorney. The Town Manager is responsible for implementing and enforcing policies and ordinance of the Town Council and overseeing the day-to-day operations of the government.  

The Town Clerk maintains the official records of the Town and serves as a support person for the Mayor and Town Council.  Persons wishing to reach the Mayor or a member of the Town Council, should contact the Town Clerk, by telephone at (919) 965-9841, ext. 1004 or by email at the following address: 

Click here for other Town of Selma Contact Information.  

The Town of Selma also appoints other various boards and committees to advise certain departments and activities within the Town.  For a list of current boards and their members click Town Advisory Boards.


© Town of Selma, North Carolina. All Rights Reserved.